Did Joan Miro make your music video?

November 14, 2009 at 12:10 am 1 comment

Usually when I hear a song I like on the radio I try and find it on Youtube and listen there first before I buy it . I feel like Steve Jobs already has enough money and I want to make sure my $0.99 goes to a song I’m going to wear out over several years versus a week. Now I know you’re thinking something along the lines of, “Wow, Kelsey, you sure have thought this through, how thrifty of you!” I’ve found this technique is not only budget-conscious, but also introduces me to some lovely trippy music videos and subsequent nightmares. I wonder if some of these directors got ideas for their videos from the Joan Miro museum because theses videos are OUT THERE. Moment of Silence for the following trip-tastic videos:

1. “White Winter Hymnal” by Fleet Foxes: Personally, I don’t think claymation is ever a good idea. Shows like Gumby and Davey and Goliath were frankly frightening and I’m not sure how they ever got classified as “kids shows.” Seriously, who thought a clay donkey and talking green bean would make the foundation for a successful show to teach children morals? I’m guessing the Fleet Foxes have a different take on the wonders of claymation because they produced the following disturbing video with claymation characters that AGE. The song is great, but the morbid lyrics plus dying claymation characters just gives me the willies.

2. “Daniel” by Bat for Lashes: I enjoy some Bat for Lashes now and then, but I have to say that although they’re a talented band musically, the videos are ridiculous. The video for Prescilla included a couch that eats children and the video for Daniel was just about as disturbing. What’s with all the creepy balloon people? This video makes me think twice about driving alone at night. (Please click on the word “Daniel,” I wasn’t able to imbed this video)

3. “Just Haven’t Met You Yet” by Michael Buble. I’m not normally a pop music person, but I’ll admit Michael Buble makes me a little weak in the knees. Mostly because he seems so optimistic and his last name is fun to say. However, this video was not amusing, but rather seizure-inducing. What’s with the rapid changes in camera shots? This isn’t MTV, Mr. Buble. You’re overdoing it. But props to you, Buble, This video did give me hope that one day, I too can spoon with my significant other in a grocery store.

Entry filed under: Moment of Silence.

Donner, party of two First dates, Tom Cruise, skinny jeans…things I find both awkward and amusing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  November 14, 2009 at 6:18 am

    This blog rocks. And I love that Fleet Foxes song. I need to pull out that vinyl again….

    Creepy video though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


