First dates, Tom Cruise, skinny jeans…things I find both awkward and amusing

March 9, 2010 at 2:45 am Leave a comment

So I caved and ordered “Valkyrie” on Netflix. I’ll admit, I had trouble keeping a straight face while watching it. When I saw Tom Cruise in an eye patch I had flashbacks to that David Bowie episode on “Flight of the Conchords” and wanted to yell at Tom, “Wear the eye patch, Brett, wear the freaky, freaky eye patch!”

On a less random note, *wink wink*, I thought I’d share a list of a few things I find both awkward and amusing. Things like…

First dates! I love to hate them. First dates make me so nervous. I usually end up drinking a ton of water at dinner because I’m so nervous, excusing myself to the bathroom half a dozen times, and then worrying the guy thinks I’m avoiding him. Ok so one time I actually was avoiding the guy (really, who thinks “Red Dragon” is a good date movie?). I wish instead of having a one-sided awkward dinner conversation we could just burst into Anna and the King’s “Getting to know you,” and waltz right into date number 2.

Skinny jeans are also awkward, but that didn’t stop me from buying a pair. I secretly want to be a hipster, but every time I think I discovered an undiscovered band, someone tells me “Oh, I love that band!”  And I’m still struggling with the hipster’s go-to outfit–skinny jeans and an American Apparel tee. Whoever invented skinny jeans obviously isn’t of German descent or a girl. If you’re either of those–you feel my pain. I have hips. And that makes it difficult to find skinny jeans that fit well. What’s amusing about skinny jeans is they don’t really make you look skinny unless you’re already a waif. Not that I’m bitter about that or anything.

Entry filed under: Moment of Silence.

Did Joan Miro make your music video? It seemed like a good idea at the time…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


